The Charles Craig Teaching Award recognizes young dental educators who have demonstrated innovative techniques in teaching the art, science and literature of dentistry. This award honors individuals who have implemented innovative teaching techniques into dental education.

The goal of the award is to encourage young dental faculty to develop creative methods for teaching the art, science and literature of dentistry to dental students. The award will recognize educators who have introduced original methods that not only educate students but motivate them to be perennial learners and dental educators. This award will be given to faculty members early in their careers to distinguish them, as well as encourage other young faculty members. The award will also serve as a formal method for creative teachers to be recognized by peers at the national level.

The recipient receives a certificate of recognition and a $1000 cash award.


Eligible candidates must be full time dental educators in an American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation accredited dental school. The candidate must have been a dental educator for not more than 7 years.

Application Process


The OKU Supreme Chapter Charles Craig Committee will serve as the selection committee. The selection committee will make its decision by January 1 of the year of the Supreme Chapter's Annual Business Meeting.

The award will be presented at the OKU Annual Business Meeting.



2019 - Pinelopi Xenoudi, University of California, SF

2020 - Parvati Iyer, University of the Pacific

2021 - Scott Radniecki, Creighton University

2022 - James Chen, University of the Pacific

2023 - Patricia Swanson, Stony Brook University